Holy Trinity Church sits at the centre of picturesque Holmfirth surrounded by cobbled streets and local shops and cafes. There has been a church in Holmfirth since 1480 but the current church was rebuilt in the 1780s with the Tower added later, initially with 6 bells with a further two added in 1934. The church website is here
The entrance to the bell tower is around the back of the church, there is a door off the cobbled street at the foot of the tower.
Weights, sizes and notes of the bells cast by John Taylor & Co. of Loughborough in 1934
There is a strong tradition of change ringing in the Holme Valley but activity had lapsed in Holmfirth until summer 2022 when a band of local experts and enthusiasts prepared the bells for work again and encouraged active and inactive ringers to visit the tower.
We now ring weekly as well as for specific events such as weddings and funerals and civic events.